2014 · 2015 · Addi · church · family · jack

2014/2015

I know it’s already the middle of January, but I thought it was better late than never to kind of recap my thoughts on 2014 and give a little update on what’s been going on with us so far in 2015.

If I had to sum up 2014 with one word it would be “blah”.  The year seemed to pass by in a flash and to be honest; I couldn’t wait for it to end. 

One thing I learned in 2014 is that GOOD friends are hard to come by.  I have a fantastic group of friends and have known some of them for 25 years; however, we all live in different cities and states (one even lives in a different country).  We are all in different phases of our lives and while we make every effort to all get together, sometimes it’s just hard.  I have really struggled with finding good friends around me who are in the same stage of life that we are in right now.  I’ve learned there are some people out there who only want to be your “friend” if they need something and then that’s it.  I don’t like throwing the term “friend” out there for everyone I meet.  Texting back and forth a few times doesn’t mean we are friends.   I want to get to know you and for you to know me.  It’s been a learning experience trying to figure out who to put time and effort getting to know.  I guess I’m still trying to figure it all out. 

Another struggle of this past year is finding a church home.  I have been at the same church for my entire life.  On Father’s Day, Brad was even baptized and joined our church (finally :)).  There have been some changes that I’m not crazy about, but the main reason we need to leave is we aren’t finding the connections with people our age.  Growing up in this church was wonderful.  I always felt like my friends were family.  My parent’s Sunday school class ALWAYS did things together and they acted like they truly cared about one another (b/c they did).  The day my dad passed away, my parent’s home was filled with Ridgecrest people.  They brought food.  They cleaned up.  They loved on my mom and our family.  Maybe it’s just a generation thing, b/c people mine and Brad’s age only seem to care about showing up on Sunday mornings and MAYBE Wednesday evenings and that’s it.  They don’t want to put any effort into getting to know one another.  All they do is complain about not ever doing anything outside of church, but then when something is planned, they don’t show up.  Um, hello, you can’t get to know people if you don’t show up.  We have been visiting another church for the past couple of weeks and we really like it.  It’s people our age who actually seem to want to be around each other at other times besides Sundays.  To be honest, we are still trying to figure out what we need to do.  Even though we haven’t really been involved in church the last couple of months, I’ve definitely felt closer to Jesus these last few months than I have this entire year.  We are just relying on Him to show us what to do.

On a more positive note….my babies turned 4 and 1 this past year.  They are growing so fast.  I have learned so much being their mommy.  One thing I have learned is that I need more patience.   But, I do love them more than ever!

I turned 30 in December.  It’s just one of those things that I wanted to skip over and ignore.  Thank goodness my birthday (Christmas Eve) is usually overshadowed by Christmas anyways

2015 started off with a bang…Addi broke her collarbone.  She was lying in our bed watching TV while I was folding some laundry.  She was rolling around and I just wasn’t paying attention and she fell off the bed.  She now has a sling/ace bandage thing she has to wear until we go back to the doctor on the 28th.  So far, she has done fabulous only using one arm and she doesn’t mind the sling at all!  Praying for good news on the 28th!

Also coming up in 2015….

I’m going on a girl’s weekend to the beach in a couple of weeks and I’m so excited about spending some quality time with friends, good food (maybe a little wine) and SLEEP!!!!
 
Brad and I will be heading to Vegas in March.  My days will be spent at a conference, but I’m super excited!!!

My baby turns 5 and will start to Kindergarten this year.  I’m sad that she’s old enough to start school, but my wallet is happy b/c we will be saving about $500 in daycare fees/month – whoop, whoop!

Jack Jack will turn two and I’m just not ready for that either.  He is talking up a storm and doing new things daily (which is why I need to blog more in order to keep up with it!!)

I’m not sure what else God has up His sleeve for us this year, but I’m looking forward to it.  

Leave a Reply

