Uncategorized

If I’m Being Honest

We all have struggles. Some more than others, but we ALL have them. Most of us want to keep the things we are dealing with under wraps and dare not let anyone know what we are going through. I have several posts that I have written but never published because then you would know the “real” me. So, instead, I just keep them behind closed doors and write about happy, cute things such as my kids and our weekends. I started this blog to keep as kind of a scrapbook for myself, but I also want to use it to not only glorify God, but to reach out/relate to others that might be going through the same things I am. So, here goes nothing…

You know how I just said I like to keep things I’m dealing with behind closed doors and not let anyone peak in? You know why? Because I care too much about what people think about me. I wish I didn’t, but I do. It’s a daily struggle, but I’m working on it. We (when I say “we” I really mean “I”, but it makes me feel better to pretend I’m not the only one dealing with this – haha) always have to have the nicest, newest, brand name things. We want to fit in. We want people to think we have it all together. We want to be LIKED. I mean who doesn’t want to be liked?

Some of this I blame on social media. You look on Facebook or Instagram and see how cute everyone looks in their pretty new clothes, brand new cars, and huge houses. Then you start comparing your life to theirs. Then jealousy kicks in and you feel like you have to have those things as well. We look at these images and feel like we have to be like them or live up to their standards. But, you know what? They are just images we are seeing. We don’t see the real, true life stuff these people are dealing with. Yes, they might look PERFECT on the outside and like they have everything all together, but I’m going to take a wild guess and say these people have the same struggles we do. They could be dealing with heartache, a failing marriage, debt, jealousy, and the list could go on and on.

I’m embarrassed each month at how much money I spend on STUFF and to “keep up with the Jonses”. I feel like a failure when it comes to spending the resources God has provided us with. I’m definitely going to start being more intentional with how our money is being spent (brad will be happy to hear this haha). Our closets are full, but yet I still go shopping weekly. I want to GIVE more.

We have to stop comparing our lives to others. God made us each differently. This world would be a pretty boring place if we were all the same, wouldn’t it? We all have different purposes in this life, but yet we are wasting our time and money trying to be like everyone else.

“I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made…” Psalm 139:14

Not sure if anyone else deals with this, but if you do, I’m praying for you today

2 thoughts on “If I’m Being Honest

  1. Great and honest post. It's one of the biggest struggles we face as moms in this day where social media runs rampant. I just always remind myself to focus on the MANY blessings God has poured out on my and my little life. Putting my focus there seems to help me filter out all the other distractions. Sending prayers that this week will be filled with lots of happiness and contentment… for both of us! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

