Addi · prayer

Hurdles


After everything that happened after Addi was born, the doctors told us everything from she could be blind to have serious developmental delays. Well, she is definitely not blind and while she is a few months behind other children her age, we think she has done tremendously well considering everything she went through.  She is definitely a trooper.


I have found myself in a state of worry whenever we approach a new “stage” in her life.  From getting rid of the paci, potty training and sleeping in a big girl bed, I have worried how she would handle each of these transitions.  

In the past six weeks, she has experienced gaining a baby brother and switching schools.  She loves her brother more than anything.  She loves to hold him and “help” me feed him.  Changing schools has been a little more of a challenge.  She has done fantastic with the actual change – meeting new friends and minding her teachers.  Her new school is a little more structured and demanding when it comes to actual “school work” than what she is used to.  I have found myself worrying that she wont be able to keep up.  Will she be able to read and write by age 4 like other kids are doing?  Will she draw and color the best pictures?

I know one of the many reasons God chose Brad to be my husband is because he can bring me back to reality and tell me what I need to hear.  So what if she’s not reading?  So what if she doesn’t color in the lines?  She’s 3.  THREE!  She will learn on her own time.  I hate telling him this, but he is right 🙂  Plus, in the long run, does it really matter?  No.  I would rather her learn to truly love and want to serve others and live her life for Jesus than being valedictorian.  That’s what matters and is most important.


God has shown me that my worrying is for nothing and I need to lean on Him in everything.  Addi has done great with each new stage she goes through.  Getting rid of the paci was SO much easier than we ever expected.  Potty training went seamlessly and she hasn’t had an accident in months.  She has gone over a week in her big girl bed.  I’m so proud of each thing she accomplishes.  I wouldn’t change her for anything and i’m thankful God chose me to be her mommy!
  
Even though Addi has been sleeping in her own bed for the past week, she still likes for one of us to lay down with her until she falls asleep.  I have used this time to pray over her. This has quickly become one of my favorite times of the day and I look forward to praying for not only the things she will face in the coming days, but also the woman she will become.

Leave a Reply

