jack

Jack Has Arrived!

We were blessed with this little bundle of joy Wednesday, July 31st at 12:30 pm.  He weighed in at 8lbs 4oz and 20 inches long.  He is absolutely perfect.  We are praising God for an easy delivery and no trips to the NICU.  The c-section began at 12:26 and he was born at 12:30 – they even had to wait on Brad to come in before pulling him out.

The whole c-section experience was really weird to me.  Going into the operating room, I felt like I was in a movie or TV show or something.  This was my first surgery, so I have never experienced anything like it.  I’m still in some pain when I try to get up and down, but other than that I have done pretty well with the recovery.

This big sister LOVES her baby brother.  Everyday she asks where baby Jack is and wants to “have it” aka hold him.  She has been a little more whine-y than normal and shown a little bit of jealousy, but it really hasn’t been too bad. 


The first few nights were rough.  I started out breast-feeding and I really wanted to keep it up and like it, but if I’m being honest, it’s just not for me.  After taking him to the pediatrician this past Monday and talking to him, I have decided to formula feed.  Since we have made the switch to formula night time has been SO much easier.

For the first month after Addi was born we had nurses to guide us through every day.  From feedings, baths and diaper changes, they walked us through everything step by step.  Having Jack and bringing him home after only three days is like the first time we are taking care of a newborn.  I feel like I don’t know anything!  

I have quickly learned little boys are a lot different than little girls.  Like they pee all of the time and you have to be really careful or you will get peed on.  The PeePee TeePee has been a must-have during diaper changes – haha!

My mom has been such a big help to us this week.  Brad went back to work Monday, so mom took off this week to help me around the house and to drive us to the doctor, etc.  She even organized Addi’s closet yesterday which needed to be done a year ago, but I never got around to it.  My sweet sweet cousin has also stocked our freezer with TONS of food!  Once defrosted everything is made to go in the crock-pot.  I’m about to go put our first meal in the crock-pot now!  This has been one of the best gifts ever!

3 thoughts on “Jack Has Arrived!

Leave a Reply

