dad · family · love

2 Years

Two years ago yesterday, my dad passed away from a heart attack.  It’s so hard to believe that it has already been that long since he has been gone.  I’m not really one who likes to show my emotions (even though these pregnancy hormones are raging and the tears just start flowing before I can stop them).  I would rather hold everything in and when I’m by myself, just have a good cry.  My mom is the exact same way.  I didn’t cry yesterday, but that doesn’t mean I don’t miss him very VERY much. 


I think of how proud of us he would be.  He would love Addi to pieces and probably talk about her 24/7.  He would love that Brad and I are expecting a little boy and naming him Jackson.  Most importantly, he would be so proud of my mom.  She is really the strongest person I know.  My dad was sick for a long time and my mom put herself on the back burner to take care of him.  At one point, my dad, grandmother and Addi were all in the hospital at the same time.  In a year and a half my mom lost her mother, husband and brother.

Through the loss of my dad she has gained a group of amazing friends (who are all widows).  She has also begun to take care of herself through working out with a trainer and dieting (i’m planning on jumping on this bandwagon once Jack gets here!)  In three weeks, she has lost over 16 pounds.  I know my dad would love that she is doing this.

Last night, we invited mom over for dinner and Brad grilled us steaks, corn and I roasted some asparagus.  It was great just being together!  

God uses these tough times to not only make us stronger, but more importantly to bring us closer to Him.  I’m so grateful for the time I was able to spend with my dad, but I know he is with our Heavenly Father and I can’t wait to see him again one day!

Leave a Reply

