bible · God · prayer

Prayer Journal

This past March I started a prayer journal.  I basically just list out my specific prayer requests and also journal how God is working in my life.  There are a lot of things that I just feel are too personal to blog about and the prayer journal has been a great outlet for that.  Doing this has also shown me areas where I need to change.  It’s so easy to focus on all of the good things I have done in my Christian walk, but it’s A LOT harder to admit when I’m wrong and start working on fixing myself to be a better Christian.  These past couple of months I have definitely felt God saying, “Hey Mary Beth, this is something you need to work on and until you get this right in your life, you aren’t able to follow me completely”.  Ouch.  I’m definitely not perfect and I have a list a mile long of these I need to change and I’m working on them daily.  Thank goodness we serve a merciful and loving God – He loves me despite my mile long list 🙂  I pray that He continues to show me ways to improve my life to better follow Him.
I LOVE seeing God work through prayer.  Of course my prayer list has grown since starting it in March, but I have been able to cross off four specific things that have been answered by Him.  I would like to encourage every one of you to start writing down your requests to God.  It’s such an amazing feeling to actually see Him work in your life and see the blessings He pours out!
“The Lord is near to all who call on him, to all who call on him in truth”  Psalm 145:18

One thought on “Prayer Journal

Leave a Reply

