Addi

I thought I would give a little update on my Addi girl.  She is such a mess and her little big personality shines through more and more each day.  She is so funny.  It amazes me how much she has learned over the past few months.  She is talking more and more and we are still working on our two word combos…slowly but surely we are getting there.  She is still seeing a speech pathologist twice a month.  Hearing all of the other kids talk in her class has really helped her with her speech.  She LOVES singing all of the little songs they have learned as well and of course doing all of the hand motions.
We are still at the stage where “mine” and “no” are her favorite words.  We bought her several toys to play with in the pool while we were at the beach and every time she thought another child was going to get one of her toys she started yelling “mine, mine”.  Even though she was very protective of her toys, she still played well with the other kids – I guess that’s another benefit of going to daycare.  I had two mothers ask me if she went to preschool/daycare because she was so interactive with the other children and just played really well.
 
I don’t know her measurements b/c we haven’t been to the doctor since her 24 month check-up, but just comparing her to others her age, she seems to be a lot taller.  I’m guessing she weighs about 38 lbs.  She is in a size 6 diaper and wears 2t/3t clothing. 
We haven’t gotten to potty training yet, but I know that’s our next big adventure – joy!  I’ve tried sitting her on the potty when I thought she was about to “go”, but she just got really stiff legged and refused to sit.  I know she’s not ready yet, so I haven’t pushed it.  When she moves up a class at school they will be really working with them and will enforce using the potty.
She has done FANTASTIC without her pappy!  After about two days of trying to suck on the pappy I cut, she just gave up and was over it.  She takes teddy to school every day and sleeps with him at naptime and that seems to have replaced pappy.  She sleeps about 1 ½ – 2 hours in the afternoon and goes to bed around 8:00.  I’m planning on buying a toddler bed soon.  Honey and dad have offered her a full size bed, but we are going to transition with a toddler bed at first.  I’m a little hesitant on getting a bed right now b/c she sleeps so well in her crib and I hate to ruin a good thing.  She’s never tried to climb out of it either – as soon as we put her down at night she just lays down and goes to sleep. 
She is truly the joy of our lives and we wouldn’t trade her for anything.  We love her more and more every day. 
Thank you Jesus for this precious blessing you have given us! 

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

