Uncategorized

Crockpotalooza!

I thought I would join in Kelly’s Crockpotalooza! Head on over and link up with her.

I LOVE my crockpot. It’s so nice to know dinner is done when I get home from work and I’m able to spend some extra time with my family!

I had a major crockpot FAIL yesterday. I threw some chicken breasts in and covered with bbq sauce. My result was dry, half-burnt chicken – yuck!

Here are a few of my go to recipes that never fail me –

Salsa Chicken

3-4 chicken breasts
1 jar Picante Sauce

Simply put the chicken in the crockpot and cover w/the Picante Sauce. Cook 6-8 hours on low. I usually serve this over rice and top with cheese.

Potato Soup

1 – 30oz bag of frozen shredded hash browns
3 – 14oz cans of chicken broth
1 can cream of chicken soup
¼ tsp ground pepper
1 pckg cream cheese

Combine all ingredients, EXCEPT the cream cheese in a crockpot and cook on low 6-8 hours. About an hour before serving, add cream cheese and heat until completely melted. Serve with cheese, sour cream, etc.

I found this recipe on Pinterest and it is the best recipe for potato soup I have found – plus it’s super easy!

I had planned on cooking this Crockpot Lemon Chicken today, but I was running late this morning.  Instead, we are having oven baked chicken and potato pancakes (made w/leftover mashed potatoes) – did anyone else’s mom make these when they were younger?  They are one of my favs!

4 thoughts on “Crockpotalooza!

  1. Oh my . . . I found your blog through Kelly's Crockpotalooza and read about the potato pancakes you say your mom made. YES! My mother made these when I was growing up and I am 51 years old! They are wonderful. 🙂 How do you do yours? We take the left over mashed potatoes and add flour, egg and finely chopped onion, then we fry them in margarine. Yummy is the word.

    Thanks for the post!

    Melanie Keffer
    Olive Branch, MS

    Like

  2. We make our potato pancakes the exact same way…except I leave out the onions! They are SO yummy!

    I definitely cooked it for too long! Next time I will make sure to put extra bbq sauce! Thanks for the tips!

    Like

Leave a Reply

