Uncategorized

Rest

Isn’t it amazing how God tells us exactly what we need to hear when we need to hear it? Last night and bible study we read this verse:

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest”
                                                                                                                     Matthew 11:28

I can’t tell you how badly I needed to hear that! There are often times in my life (like right now) where I am physically and mentally exhausted. I’m the type of person that can’t say no. My plate is often full with things that I have committed to do b/c I simply couldn’t just say no. Whether it’s church or work I need to realize that if it’s not God’s plan for me, then I need to say no. I don’t need to say “Sure, I will help with that” or “Of course I will be the chair on that committee” just because I’m asked to do so.

A lot of this has to do with me wanting to please people and not wanting to disappoint them. Part of my job here on earth is not to be a people pleaser. It’s to do whatever God’s will is for my life. I’m so glad I was reminded of that last night!

Isn’t it a great feeling to know that we can call on Him and find rest??

Leave a Reply

