Uncategorized

Christmas Firsts

This Christmas has been full of firsts.  It was Addi’s first Christmas, our first Christmas in our new house, Addi’s first snow, our first Christmas without my Grandmother and our first Christmas without my dad (he’s in the hospital).  This has been a whirlwind of a month so far and I can tell you that I’m definitely ready for a new year!  Everything started about three weeks ago when my grandmother passed away.  We had just moved her into an assisted living and she LOVED it.  She died in her sleep and we knew she was happy.  This was a blessing for sure.  The day after we buried my grandmother, my dad had to be taken by ambulance to the ER.  He’s still in the ICU, but thankfully he’s doing a little better.

This year, we had Christmas with my mom’s side of the family on Christmas Eve.  We usually do dinner, but instead we did lunch so we could make it to the visitation hours to see my dad.  It was definitely different being at my parent’s house and not my grandmother’s, but we all know she’s in a better place.  We then went to Christmas Eve communion with Brad’s parents.  My mom spent the night with us and was able to experience Addi’s first Santa experience! 

We woke up early Christmas morning and watched Addi open her presents.  Brad and I didn’t do gifts this year, but it was fun watching Addi.  We then went and had Christmas at Brad’s parent’s house.  Then, we made our way to the hospital and had Christmas there!  My aunts spread out a blanket in the lobby and Addi opened her gifts!  She had a ball! Paper and gift tags are her favorite.  She got so many toys and I think every single one of them make some kind of noise (Oh joy!!).  🙂

We will be celebrating Christmas with my dad’s side of the family as soon as he gets home from the hospital.  I can’t wait!!

Today, we were snowed in!! I took advantage of being stuck at home and I took down the Christmas decor.  Brad cleaned all day.  I seriously have the best hubby ever! He washed clothes, organized cabinets, cleaned the kitchen and cleaned out our closet.  I just haven’t had the opportunity to do any of those things b/c my mind has been elsewhere, so I’m VERY thankful he helped me out today.

Addi has been fussy all day.  She wants to stand up and every time we try to sit her down or put her in the jumper she screams.  She also fights sleep like crazy.  I did, however, get her to take a three hour nap today!  (I took one with her 🙂

I hope everyone had a Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

